Meet the 2022 AWSM Scholar Class

Post by:
AWSM Board

The Association for Women in Sports Media is proud to introduce its newest class of AWSM Scholars.

Since 1990, AWSM has placed female college students in paid summer internships in the sports media industry at top companies from around the country.

The seven young women who were chosen as 2022 AWSM Scholars had to demonstrate their talent and drive throughout our competitive application process.

In addition to the paid internship, winners will also receive a $1,000 scholarship. 

These scholarships are possible thanks to our generous benefactors:

·       The Associated Press Sports Editors, sponsoring the Mary Garber/APSE Scholarship

·       Christine Brennan, sponsoring the Betty Brennan Scholarship and Jim Brennan Scholarship

·       Martin Doerfler and Kristin Huckshorn, sponsoring the Founders Scholarship

·       Jim Jenks, sponsoring the Joyce-Jenks Family Scholarship

·       Tom Jolly, sponsoring the Betty Jolly Scholarship

·       Myra MacPherson, sponsoring the Leah Siegel Memorial Scholarship

·       Jorge Rojas and Jim Jenks, sponsoring the Celeste Williams Memorial Scholarship

Our internship hosts help make this program possible. A special thanks to Dallas Morning News, ESPN, NCAA Digital, Sporting News, Sports Illustrated and USA Softball, who return as hosts for the 2022 class, and to Yahoo Sports, who AWSM welcomes as a first-time scholar employer.

Get to know the 2022 AWSM Scholars below: 

Candice Hatch is a junior at East Tennessee State University, where she is double majoring in media and communication and sports management while also minoring in business. She works for the ETSU athletic department as a football media intern and a football manager. This summer, she will be interning with the Sporting News as the recipient of the Celeste Williams Memorial Scholarship.

Claire Kuwana is a senior at Northwestern University studying science, journalism and economics as part of her double major. She currently covers the Northwestern football team for The Athletic while contributing to the Big Ten Network and InsideNU student production teams. She became a student member of AWSM in 2020 and is the co-president of the AWSM at Northwestern chapter and was a member of the 2021 SJI class. Kuwana has been selected as Mary Garber/APSE Scholarship recipient and will intern at the Dallas Morning News.

Mallory Schnell is a senior at Arizona State University, where she majors in sports journalism at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. She is originally from South Florida, where she most recently served as an intern for the South Florida Sun Sentinel. She currently works as a PR/media relations intern for the Arizona Coyotes as well as producer/social media coordinator for PHNX Sports. Schnell will be interning with NCAA Digital at Turner Sports as the Founders Scholarship winner.

Amna Subhan is a senior at Arizona State University studying sports journalism and is currently interning with NCAA Digital as an editorial intern. In 2021 she was selected to intern with Southern California News Group as a SJI recipient, including work for L.A. Daily News and Orange County Register. In the past three years, she has also contributed to the Arizona Republic, Cronkite News and Arizona PBS. This summer, she has been selected to the receive the Jim Brennan Scholarship and will be interning with Sports Illustrated.

Payton Titus is a junior at the University of Florida specializing in sports and media and minoring in women's studies. She has previously worked at the Tampa Bay Times, the Independent Florida Alligator and WUFT News. She will be interning at Yahoo Sports through AWSM's partnership with the Sports Journalism Institute as a part of their 2022 class. She is a member of the AWSM Florida student chapter and this year's recipient of the Betty Brennan Scholarship.

Emma Trainor is a junior at Oklahoma State University studying sports management and marketing communications. She has spent three years as a communications intern with the athletic department at Oklahoma State, including now serving as the Equestrian sports information director. She has also been a media relations team member for both the Big 12 Conference and the Southeastern Conference. Trainor will be spending her summer in Oklahoma City with USA Softball as the Joyce-Jenks Family Scholarship winner.

DonA Traylor-Askew is junior at the University of Georgia. She was one of 11 students to be named as a 2022 McGill Fellow by the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. She has spent the past two years as a reporter and producer for Grady Sportsource for both their studio shows and live broadcasts. This summer she has been selected as the recipient of the Leah Siegel Memorial Scholarship and will be interning in Bristol, Conn. at ESPN.

If you’d like to help support the AWSM Scholars program, please reach out to AWSM internship/scholarship coordinators Melissa Rule and Jeanmarie Winger for more information:,

Connect with US