Applications closed for 2020-21 AWSM Champions class

Post by:
AWSM Board

The Association for Women in Sports Media is no longer accepting applications for its 2020-21 class of AWSM Champions presented by the Ann Liguori Foundation. Women who are selected for the program will be paired with a sports media veteran in the appropriate field for one year and partake in sessions featuring industry veterans.

All professional female AWSM members who have been employed in sports media any point during the past 12 months are eligible for AWSM Champions. Student members, including Spring 2020 graduates, are not eligible. All applications were due to by 11:59 p.m. PT on May 15:

* Contact information (full name, email, phone number)
* Résumé
* Personal statement detailing why you are interested in being selected for the AWSM Champions program and what you are most looking for in a mentor (one page maximum)
* Head shot

Upon completion of the one-year program, mentees receive a complimentary one-year extension of their AWSM membership and assistance to attend AWSM’s 2021 convention. AWSM thanks the Ann Liguori Foundation, which continues as the inaugural benefactor of the program that was launched in 2017-18.

Members of the 2019-20 program are Despina Barton (freelance), Callie Caplan (Dallas Morning News), Amie Just (, Grace Raynor (The Athletic) and Rochelle Romero (KRON-TV San Francisco).

Thanks to 2019-20 program mentors Dana O’Neil (The Athletic), Nancy Armour (USA Today), Jody Jackson (Fox Sports Arizona), Rachel Bowers (The Athletic) and Colleen Farrell (Pac-12 Networks).

Members of the 2020-21 AWSM Champions class will be announced in June. If you are interested in mentoring a future AWSM Champion, please contact board members Gina Mizell and Iliana Limón Romero at

Connect with US